Vegan Beauty Tips

magazine

I’m excited to share my newest beauty article in alive magazine: Vegan Beauty! For alive‘s vegan-themed February issue, I was asked to write about choosing natural and cruelty-free skin care and cosmetics.

Full disclosure: I’m not vegan. I would probably consider myself a “flexitarian.” However, I respect others’ choice of going totally animal free. And when it comes to skin care, I do try to use vegan ingredients whenever possible. For example, glycerin and squalene can be sourced from animals or plants–so it’s a no-brainer to choose the cruelty-free option. I always read labels or contact companies to be sure.

The biggest takeaway I’d want people to have about vegan products is that just as not every natural ingredient is nontoxic (heavy metals, anyone?), not every vegan ingredient is natural or nontoxic. For best results, look for the a combo of all three: nontoxic, natural, and vegan. It’s easier than you might think! For example, Pacifica and Zuii are both great options for vegans and non-vegans alike, and readily available at health food stores.

I also had the chance to chat with the lovely Justina Kervel of Liquid Amber Tattoo & Art Collective in Vancouver about vegan tattoo options. Spoiler alert: they do exist! Her quotes can be found in my article. Drop by your local health food store to pick up a hardcopy, or read it online at alive.com.

Are you vegan? Do you try to choose cruelty free options? Let me know in a comment below!

xo

Leave a Reply

