On Customizing Products

Fable1

Fable Naturals, my favourite local skin care line (and did I mention that it’s handmade, fair trade, and all natural too?) has two new products: a Green Tea & Clay Rejuvenating Mask, and a Quinoa & Almond Fresh Skin Exfoliant. I’ve been using them both for a couple months now (about once a week) and I can definitely say that I’m in love.

Then I read a really interesting review from a blogger (hi, Shaylee!) about how products like this can be customized to your skin type or preferences. She, very cleverly, explained that she mixed these powder products with an extra-nourishing liquid such as coconut water or aloe vera, rather than plain water. So smart! She also suggests using a toner or your favourite facial oil. Being in powder form, Fable’s products are super easy to customize.

Fable2

This facial exfoliant is gentle enough for my sensitive skin, but strong enough to slough away my dry wintertime flakiness.

Fable3

Made with Canadian glacial clay, this mask detoxifies and rejuvenates. Interestingly, the addition of bergamot and tea makes it smell just like a London Fog latte (or maybe that’s just me?). In any case, yum!

This made me think about the importance of customizing, not just one’s skin care routine, but also the products themselves. Other examples I could think of include:

  • Adding a drop of facial oil to your moisturizer, for added moisture benefits.
  • Blending different shades of eyeshadow, lipstick, or even concealer, or layering fragrances.
  • Combining highlighter with foundation (for a glowing finish), or moisturizer with foundation (for a DIY tinted moisturizer).

I love the idea of making products your own! Do you customize products? Let me know about your tips, tricks, and feedback in a comment below–I’d love to hear from you!

xo

3 thoughts on “On Customizing Products

  1. cosmeticcurious says:

    Aww thank you so much for the mention Leah! You made my day with your kind words! ❤

    And what a great post! I haven't tried Fables masks yet so I'll definitely have to check them out soon!and

  2. cosmeticcurious says:

    Aww thank you so much for the mention Leah! You really made my day with all your kind words ❤

    Also this is a wonderful post! I haven't tried Fable's masks yet so I will have to check them out!

Leave a Reply

