Cult beauty favourites

CultFaves1

Have any of you ever tried one of those beauty or skincare products that have achieved cult status, only to be disappointed? I’ve had my fair share of those moments too. However, sometimes the products live up to the hype. Most of the time, I’m sure, it depends on the situation and person. As I’ve said before: not every product works for every person.

Here are a few recent products I’ve tried, and what I thought:

Dior nail glow
Okay, first things first: although I definitely strive to use natural products, I don’t only use natural products. Nail polish is one of those unfortunate exceptions. So when I kept hearing glowing (pardon the pun) reviews about Dior Nail Glow, I had to try it out. The first couple times I tried to get my hands on it, it was actually out of stock at Sephora–which has never happened to me before! People say that its very sheer pink colour gives nails a lovely finish that makes the whites of your nails whiter, with an almost French-manicure effect. The effect builds, so you can add up three coats. Me? I definitely liked it as a quick alternative to a nude or clear nail polish. But as far as a French manicure effect that makes the whites of my nails look whiter? I’m not so sure.

Verdict: 4/5

Biore nose strips
Okay, these are just plain fun. Anyone who says otherwise is lying. It feels great to clear some of your pores, but I think that’s the key word here–some. As far as effectiveness goes, I’m pretty sure that extractions, or a detoxifying exfoliant and mask are probably just as good. Still, they’re always a laugh with some girlfriends/your sister/an open-minded boyfriend or husband, etc.

Verdict: 3/5

Aesop anything
I was very excited to discover that Aesop, the Australian hair and skincare brand with a major cult following, opened right under my nose in BC. Surprise! Apparently they’re too cool for grand openings or advertising. Good grief. Anyway, I splurged on a cleanser, toner, and moisturizer that was recommended for my combination skin (you know, the kind of skin that can be oily and flaky/dry, in the exact same place? So fun!). The moisturizer is silky and smells lovely, but it doesn’t absorb easily. Plus, I found the cleanser and toner slightly drying, and only made my winter flakiness worse. I was super disappointed! Maybe they just weren’t the right products for me, but I’m happy sticking with my less expensive, more natural standbys.

Verdict: 2/5

Caudalie beauty elixir
Caudalie is a French skincare brand that’s also natural. I’ve used other products of theirs before and loved them. Thankfully, their beauty elixir is no exception. People use it as a toner, as a refreshing pick-me-up, or to help set makeup. Apparently it’s also great to revitalize skin on a long plane ride. I love the smell and tingly feeling on my skin, and I’ll definitely be picking this up again.

Verdict: 5/5

I’d love to hear what sorts of beauty/skincare products you’ve tried that are all the rage. Did you love them? Did you hate them? Were they just okay? Leave a comment and let me know!

xo

6 thoughts on “Cult beauty favourites

  1. ABeautifulWhim says:

    My disappointments are countless. But I’ve had winners too. I’ve been quite impressed with a new line I’m testing called Solvaderm (very nice and effective products). Korres black pine moisturizer seriously impressed me! But I dropped 110.00 on Obaji eye gel and it SUCKED. Complete waste.

      • ABeautifulWhim says:

        Cream, anti aging, eye cream… That sort of thing. In general hands down, my life is over If NARS creamy radiant concealer is taken from me. That is golden. Cream… I feel like I’m in that quest for a lifting, hydrating, real intense product.

      • leahstellapayne says:

        Hmm… I’m really loving Origins these days. Their Eye Doctor is my favourite eye cream by far, and I’m also still loving their Night-a-Mins night cream. Apparently they have a new serum/skin refining that’s supposed to work in combination with it that I’m super excited to check out. For day cream, I’ve tried a sample of Fresh’s Rose Hydrating Gel that I liked… Hopefully I’ll love the full size just as much!

Leave a Reply

