The new facial cleansers on the block

Cleansers1I feel like I’m starting to ignore a lot of what the mainstream beauty and skin care brands say about treating your skin type, and instead do what feels right to me. After all, who knows my skin better than me?

What I mean to say is that I’ve been slowly transitioning away from using products formulated for oily/blemish-prone skin, and instead looking for gentle products made for sensitive skin. Even though I do have oily, blemish-prone skin, it can also be dry, and it’s very sensitive. (Goodbye salicylic acid, hello witch hazel!) My skin has seriously never looked better.

When it comes to facial cleansers, I’ve had a bit of a breakthrough!

Before, my skin always felt tight after cleansing, like I couldn’t wait to get moisturizer on it. But then I discovered a whole new type of skin cleansers that don’t leave my skin feeling parched. Some of them don’t even need water! Here are some of my favourites (not all are pictured above):

  • Best for all skin types: Fable’s Lemon & Petitgrain Cleansing Balm. It’s no surprise that I love Fable’s products, and their new cleansing balm is no exception. It smells deliciously like lemons, cleanses without stripping moisture, and leaves my skin feeling very happy.
  • Best for quick morning cleansing: Weleda Almond Soothing Cleansing Lotion. This no-rinse formula is perfect for busy mornings. I originally used LUSH’s 9 to 5 Cleansing Lotion (a similar, no-rinse idea, both made with lovely almond oil), but then I discovered that LUSH’s version used parabens. Yuck! Come on guys, it’s time to reformulate. Everyone’s going #parabenfree. I like to support local companies, but not in this case. Weleda, for those who are new to the company, is a trusted and true German brand (since 1921!) with very clean ingredients. They know what they’re doing, folks.
  • Best for on the go (such as after the gym): Yes to Cucumbers Facial Wipes. I love that these wipes are made with FSC material, because, in general, I don’t like using disposable products. But these wipes are perfect for travel, the gym, and so on, and they don’t dry my skin out.
  • Best for the shower: The Soap Works Creamy Clay Bar Soap. I know, I know, bar soaps are supposed to be awful for facial skin, but trust me here. This one is different. It actually is creamy. Best of all, it lasts a long time in the shower, unlike some other bar soaps that just melt away to nothing in a week. The soap gives a really subtle lather, has a mild scent, and leaves my skin soft, not tight.

Have you used any of these? Have you used any others? I know there’s a lot of hype about beauty/micellar waters lately, so those are next on my list to try. I’d love to know what works, and what doesn’t work, for you.

xo

One thought on “The new facial cleansers on the block

Leave a Reply

