On summer lip shades, lipsticks, and looking for the “perfect” product

thumb_thumb_IMG_3656_1024_1024Ever since Clinique’s chubby sticks were a massive success, lip crayons have been all the rage, with tons of companies formulating their own versions. Recently I tried Burt’s Bees lip crayon in “Niagara Overlook.” It’s a really lovely shade–fairly neutral, but with a bright peachy hue that’s perfect for summer.

But you know what? I don’t like it as much as my all-time favourite lip product: Burt’s Bees tinted lip balm in “Rose.” In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever found a lip product that comes close to my trusty tinted lip balm–from Burt’s Bees or from any other company. I really like the natural lipsticks from BITE and from Tarte (all are pictured above), but I only love my Rose tinted lip balm. As in, if they ever discontinued it I would literally cry. It’s the perfect mix of colour and creamy texture that never dries out my lips.

That made my realize that, while I like to experiment with skin care and beauty products, it’s always in the hopes of finding the perfect product. The perfect mascara. The perfect shampoo. The perfect night cream. Is there such a thing? I’m obviously of the mindset that if you search long enough, the perfect product exists for you–whatever your skin type, skin concern, or colour preference. And when I find it, I’ll keep buying it for life. Some products, like my beloved tinted lip balm, are definitely it for me. But others, like facial moisturizer, continue to elude me.

Does anyone else experiment with new products only in hopes of finding their perfect soulmate? Or do you love experimenting for the sake of experimenting? Or maybe you have a completely different philosophy–like buying whatever’s on sale and being happy with it? I’m really curious to know, so leave a comment!

Oh, and if you’ve ever found a product that you’ve bought over and over again, let me know what it is!

xo

One thought on “On summer lip shades, lipsticks, and looking for the “perfect” product

  1. Arielle says:

    Love your post! I really am guilty of trying out new products to see if there are any that will be better than my current holy grail product. I absolutely love Burt’s Bees lip balms as well, they are amazing ❤

Leave a Reply

