Why I’ve fallen in love with capsule wardrobes

Have you heard of capsule wardrobes? This trend mixes fashion with minimalism, organization, being eco-friendly, and being budget-conscious. It brings the mantra of “quality over quantity” to personal style, and offers an awesome antidote to the fast fashion movement that’s so harmful to our environment and wallets.

Basically, I’m in love.

So what is a capsule wardrobe?

Essentially, it’s a wardrobe consisting of only a few items (around 20-40 pieces) that an individual selects based on his or her lifestyle, budget, and personal style. The items are versatile, and they can mix-and-match so the number of outfits that can be created multiplies.

Not only does the individual love and wear each item (after all, if you have three pairs of black pants, you only wear your favourite ones anyway!), but there’s never a crisis of “I have nothing to wear;” there are no impulse purchases, regrets, or overspending; and the closet isn’t jam-packed. Plus, you have more time for things you love! So…it’s pretty much everything we all should be doing, but many of us (myself included) aren’t.

Some principles of those who create capsule wardrobes include:

  • Opt for classic style over fashion trends: fashion lasts a season, but style lasts forever.
  • Choose garments that are made well, from high-quality fabrics.
  • Develop a signature style: versatile pieces do not need to be all neutrals.

A few of my all-time favourite capsule wardrobe bloggers:

So…am I going to make my own capsule?

I don’t know! I actually tried to map out a draft of a spring capsule wardrobe yesterday and then got a bit overwhelmed and stopped. I think I have way too many clothes–and I’ve actually purged a ton lately. I’ve been much better at choosing things that have a more streamlined style, rather than having a bunch of pieces that don’t work together, but I obviously have a ways to go yet.

What about you? Would you ever try the capsule technique? Or have you tried it already? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

xo

Leave a Reply

