A Beauty Resolution…and a weird question

Full disclosure: I realize this post is very #firstworldproblems, but it’s actually been driving me crazy, so oh well.

How often do you wash your hair? I’ve always washed it every day, without fail, because I thought that’s just what you do. But apparently everyone else knows that you’re not supposed to do that because it’s bad for your hair colour and dries out your ends. Silly me. I’ve since tried to shampoo every second day, but keep stopping because I find second day hair so gross. (Shudders.)

I’ve been told repeatedly by hair stylists and beauty gurus that your hair does get used to it, and stops overproducing oil, so there is a light at the end of the tunnel. I actually just got my hair done by an amazing colourist and I am so excited to have great hair, so this time, armed with a great dry shampoo and old-lady-inspired shower cap, I’m going to stick to the “every second day” plan.

I do want to hear from you: how often do you shampoo? Did it take a while to get used to? Any tips or tricks?

xo

7 thoughts on “A Beauty Resolution…and a weird question

  1. Dora says:

    Hey 🙂

    Your hair looks so good.
    I usually do it every third day. It works pretty well, on the first day it’s great, the second day it’s okay, but a little more flat, on the third day it gets oily and that’s when I wash it.
    I’d say it’s pretty important to find the right shampoo for your hair type. I used to use a shampoo for oily hair when in reality, I had normal, even a bit dry hair and it was terrible: it dried out my skalp and, naturally, it started getting oilly quicker.

    Hope it gets better for you. 🙂

    xx

  2. MuggleBorn says:

    I wash my hair every day, I just have to. My hair is so oily that by the end of the day it feels gross. I can’t deal with second day hair. I know people that can go several days without washing their hair. I have tried tons of dry shampoos and that never works.

  3. Hanna says:

    Hi! I used to wash everyday and now I find it such a relief to deal with it about 3X a week. It’s curly so it can actually improve after day 1 but at some point it becomes too tangled. I’ve got the (Cath Kidson!) old lady bath cap too! : )

  4. Laura says:

    Hey!!

    Since going red- I wash every 4-5 days (!!!) at first it was awful and I hated it. But it does get better, I promise. Get a good dry shampoo, the bun and braid looks are perfect, and you can always just wash your bangs to freshen up.
    And now I love it! The colour stays so much better, the ends don’t split as much and I save south time 🙂
    I also invested in a sulfate free shampoo, and a colour deposit conditioner.
    Persevere! It’s so worth it.

  5. Dorkchops says:

    Your hair look so nice and soft! 😀 I wash my hair every 2 to 3 days! 🙂 I’m an active person so if I don’t wash it for any long than that it gets really really gross LOL.

Leave a Reply

