Here’s To A Kinder, More Lighthearted Year

IMG_3410

Happy 2015!

I love the idea that the New Year is a fresh start where I can improve things, big or little. While I don’t always follow through (going to bed earlier…sure…) it can be nice to dream, can’t it?

Without further ado, here are my resolutions for 2015:

1. Enjoy my university experience

When I did my undergrad degree, I was so focused on getting good grades, that I didn’t enjoy it very much, which made me feel awful when so many people said to me “Enjoy it! These are the best days of your life.” But most of my memories are filled with overcrowded buses, rainy days at bus stops, and classes of 300+ students where I didn’t know a soul. While I loved my classes and did manage to meet some very awesome people, my undergrad days were certainly not the best days of my life.

It’s silly to say this now, but I feel that I’m finally ready to do this university thing properly. As much as I’d still like to do well, I don’t want to obsess over my GPA, and I’d like to stop and smell the roses. Not many people get the chance to go to university, let alone a Master’s program, so I should darn well enjoy it!

2. Be kind to my skin, and my body

I mean this in a philosophical way, sort of. I had an amazing facial as a Christmas present from my husband (I mean, he paid for it–he didn’t do it himself. That would be awful.) and the aesthetician told me I had really nice skin, which shocked me because I usually complain about it and stress over the smallest blemish.

It’s the same with my body: even though we all have flaws, we should really just be so happy that we have strong, capable bodies that allow us to move through life and tackle everything we take on.

3. Do more of what I love

Like reading books, practising yoga, seeing my girlfriends, and doing ballet barre classes as a workout (which I discovered I love!). Along this same note, I also want to blog more, because I love it. I’d like to see how this blog naturally evolves, rather than me trying to stick to particular themes.

As I read this blog post over, it seems like overall, my resolutions are to be kinder and more gentle on myself, surround myself with things and people I love, and enjoy the little things. That sounds like a pretty good year, doesn’t it?

xo

Leave a Reply

